colliers
Risca Industrial History Museum & OHIHS
This Season's OHIHS Programme
and the Society's previous events
Search the site here

Autumn Meetings Programme

OHIHS meet in the Risca Colliers Institute, home of the Risca Industrial History Museum, at 7.00pm for 7.15pm.
Meetings finish by 9.00pm. Membership fee £25.
Friends and visitors are welcome to attend our meetings: Admission £2.

Our Open Evenings

Open evenings are informal meetings giving everyone an opportunity to raise topics and questions for general discussion.
You are welcome to make short presentations, discuss topical matters of industrial interest or present the product of your researches.

Last of the Summer Walks and Visits....

Friday 13th August 2021 - Women's Heritage Walk - Pontypridd

Meet Elin Jones at the Lido Cafe entrance, Ynys Angharad Park at 7.00 pm.
O.S. ref ST074900

Friday 20th August 2021 - Nantgarw China Works (Daytime, must be pre-booked)

Meet at the China Works car park at 10.30 am.
O.S. ref ST120854
This is a special pre-booked group visit which is chargeable.
A separate note, with further details, will be sent out shortly and the names of people who wish to attend will be collected.

Friday 27th August 2021 - The Chartist Cave (late-afternoon walk) *

Meet Rob Southall at Top Road / Railway Terrace, Trefil at 5.00 pm
O.S. ref SO122128

....and Back Indoors for our Meetings

Friday 3rd September 2021 - What we did Last Summer

Places we went and things we saw. Plus membership renewal

Friday 10th September 2021 - Friday Night is Film Night

Chris Plaister

Friday 17th September 2021 - Stokers and Strikers

Peter Strong

Friday 24th September 2021 - Newport to Ebbw Vale by Train

Malcolm Johnson

Friday 1st October 2021 - The Story of Blackwood

Lyn Pask

Friday 8th October 2021 - Open Evening

Contributions from our members

Friday 15th October 2021 - Stroud's Other Industries

Dr Ray Wilson

Friday 22nd October 2021 - Solomon’s Might - The loss of Penlee Lifeboat

Paul Barnett

Friday 29th October 2021 - Open Evening

Contributions from our members

Friday 5th November 2021 - Ruperra Castle at War

Pat Jones-Jenkins

Friday 12th November 2021 - Open Evening

Contributions from our members

Friday 19th November 2021 - Open Evening

Contributions from our members

Friday 26th November 2021 - Broadgauge, part 2 - Swindon to the West

Brian Arman

Friday 3rd December 2021 - Cold War Britain

Duncan Ashton

Friday 10th December 2021 - Open Evening

Contributions from our members

Friday 17th December 2021 - Christmas Social Evening

Quizzes and games from our members

Our previous programmes of meetings and walks


Programmes are supplied in PDF format. Click on the icon below if you require a free PDF reader.

pdf

© All rights reserved - OHIHS 2004-2018